Avoid the three day wait requirement and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Clay County.
Here’s how it works:
The Clay County Courthouse will discount your marriage license application fee $32.50 upon completing our online premarital preparation course.
The cost of our course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.
Our Online Premarital Preparation Course for Clay County Covers the Following Cities:
We have assembled the best places to get married in Clay County Florida for you. These are just a few of the many beautiful places in Clay County to be married
1. The Club Continental.
2. Fleming Island Banquet Hall.
3. First Assembly Church.
For more information about gaining your marriage license and our Florida premarital preparation course for Clay County residents, see below.
Please refer to the Clay County Clerk of Court website for additional information. http://clerk.co.clay.fl.us/FamilyLaw/marriage.html
Chapter 741 of the Florida Statutes govern the issuance of Marriage Licenses.
A marriage license may be issued to anyone over 18 years of age as long as they have proper identification and all the information necessary to complete the application form. If either party has been married before, he/she must know the exact date (MM/DD/YY) the last marriage ended.
The issuance of a marriage license to anyone under 18 years of age but at least 16 years of age requires written parental consent from both parents. If one parent has been granted sole custody by a Court order, a certified copy of the Court order must be presented at the time of applying for the license. Take this link for the parental consent form.
In the case of a pregnant female under the age of 18 without parental consent, the County Court Judge, in the exercise of his or her discretion, may issue a license to marry when the fact of pregnancy is verified by a written statement from a licensed physician.
No license shall be granted to any person under the age of 16 years, with or without the consent of parents, except when pregnancy is a factor.
The marriage license is valid for only 60 days and can be used anywhere in the State of Florida.
The Clerk’s office can perform the wedding ceremony for a fee of $30.00. There is a $30.00 fee to correct any errors found after the license has been issued (signed by the bride and groom and the deputy clerk). If an error is found after the license has been issued and/or recorded, this form, “Request to Modify Marriage License” must be filled out and signed before a notary or a deputy clerk and presented at the time of requesting correction.
However, the completion of a 4 hour pre-marital preparation class will waive the 3 day waiting period and will reduce the application fee to $61.00. A certificate of completion must be presented at the time of applying for your license to get the reduced fee and 3 day waiver. See the link below for a list of the providers in our area.
You may fill out the marriage license application online. The Premarital Statement is also required but can not be submitted online. Please print the Premarital Statement form, fill it out and bring it into our office when you come to obtain your license. DO NOT sign the Premarital Statement form until you are in front of the issuing agent. See links below for both forms.