Avoid the three day wait and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Nassau County.
The Nassau County Courthouse will discount your marriage license $32.50 upon completing our online premarital preparation course.
The cost of our the course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.
1. Country Day Castle & Stables – Hilliard, FL
2. Littleberry Farm – Fernandina Beach, FL
3. Plantation Oaks Farms – Callahan, FL
4. The Hilliard Mansion – Hilliard, FL
5. The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island – Fernandina Beach, FL
April 2011 – Marriage Licenses can now be applied for and recorded at our Courthouse location and our Historic Courthouse location.
For single adults to obtain a marriage license they must both be 18 years or older and come into the Clerk’s office together. Bring your driver’s license and Social Security Number (Card not needed, just the number). Non-U.S. Citizens may submit a naturalization number, immigration number or passport number. The process for obtaining a marriage license normally takes no more than 30 minutes. When the application is filed, the license is issued immediately.
If either party has been widowed or divorced, they must know the month/day/year that the marriage ended.
* If either party has divorced within the last 30 days they need to bring a certified copy of the final divorce decree with them when they apply for a marriage license.
For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a full three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. (Note: The parties may take the course separately, they are not required to take it together, but both must take it in order to qualify for the discount and both must read a 16 page Family Law Handbook (copy provided by the Clerk’s Office).
The waiting period does not apply to nonresidents of Florida. If one party is a resident of Florida and the other party is a nonresident the three-day waiting period is waived only if the Florida resident takes the state-sanctioned marriage preparation course, but no discount is given.
A Florida marriage license is valid for 60 days from date of validity. The marriage license must be returned to the clerk’s office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
Deputy clerk’s can perform civil ceremonies in the clerk’s office. There is a charge of $30.00 for that service. However, a clerk cannot perform the marriage ceremony at the time the license is obtained if the three-day waiting period applies. The clerk’s office asks for a 24-hour appointment in advance. Weddings are performed between the hours of 9:00 am to 11:00 am and from 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday (except for holidays)
For further information regarding marriage licenses, please refer to F.S. 741
Other Important Links:
Please refer to the Nassau County Clerk of Courts website for additional information. http://www.nassauclerk.com/
Dr. D’Arienzo is a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist and Anger Management Expert. Dr. D’Arienzo developed a fully online, fully automated four-hour and eight-hour anger management course. This course is chalked full of exercises and educational material to help you identify and manage your anger. Purchase 4 hour Level 1 Anger Management Course for $29.99 or our 8 hour Level 2 Anger Management Course for $49.99.Learn More
Dr. D’Arienzo is a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist and Divorce Expert. Dr. D’Arienzo developed a fully online Parent and Family Stabilization Course. Dr. D’Arienzo discusses section four of his course: how to communicate with your children about divorce. Purchase our course to ensure that your children survive and thrive during your divorce.Learn More
Divorce is a loss for the parents and children that are involved. In this article we will discuss the stages of grief and loss as it pertains to divorce. We go over the stages of loss, the changes that come with divorce, and how you can get through divorce. Take our DCF Approved Parent Stabilization Course for only $19.95 today.Learn More