Avoid the three day wait requirement and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Hernando County.
The Hernando County Courthouse will reduce your marriage license application fee from $93.50 to $61.00 upon completing our online premarital preparation course. The standard fee for a marriage license is $93.50, however, applicants who file a certification that both parties have completed our state-sanctioned online premarital preparation course within the past 12 months, are entitled to a discount ($32.50), making their fee $61.00.
The cost of our the course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.
We have done the work so you do not have to and found the best places to get married and celebrate in Hernando County, Florida.
1. Head & Heel Ranch – Brooksville, FL.
2. Hitching Post Barn – Brooksville, FL.
3. Palace Grand – Spring Hill, FL.
4. Saxon Manor Weddings & Events – Brooksville, FL.
5. The White Barn – Brooksville, FL.
6. Tuscany On the Meadows – Hernando, FL.
For your convenience, D’Arienzo Psychological Group has supplied information here from the Hernando County Marriage License website. Please refer to the Hernando County Clerk of Court website for additional information. http://hernandoclerk.com/official-records/marriage-licenses/
Marriage licenses are handled by the Clerk’s Office. To obtain a marriage license both parties must complete a marriage application (Marriage Kiosk link below) and must be 18 years of age or older and provide proof of their age, identification in the form of a driver’s license, state ID, or passport and either a social security card or an alien registration number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service if the party is not a U.S. citizen. If the applicants are 16 or 17 years of age they must provide written consent of both parents or legal guardians. Individuals under the age of 16 may not obtain a marriage license unless approved by the County Judge.
The fee for a marriage license is $93.50 and there is a three (3) day waiting period for Florida residents; there is no waiting period for non-residents. Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide completion certificates will only be required to pay $61.00 and the three (3) day waiting period will be waived. Please click here for a list of course providers. All Florida residents are also required to read the Family Law Handbook (English)/(Spanish) whether or not the premarital preparation course has been completed.
Personal checks are not accepted for marriage licenses; cash or credit cards are accepted.
Once a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 60 days and the marriage ceremony must be performed within that time or the license will be voided. Marriage ceremonies may be performed by:
The Clerk’s Office also performs marriage ceremonies in the Ceremony Room, Room 362, for a $30.00 fee.
Once the ceremony is performed, the marriage certificate and a certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the address listed on the application within 30 days. Additional certified copies cost $3.00 per document.
Per Florida law, the Clerk’s Office prohibits the issuance of a marriage license for parties of the same gender and for related individuals.
For further information regarding marriage licenses, please contact the Clerk’s Office at (352)540-6768 or at 20 North Main Street, Room 362, Brooksville, FL 34601.
Note: Because of the time involved in processing the application, we cannot accept applications after 4:30 pm.
Dr. D’Arienzo is a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist and Anger Management Expert. Dr. D’Arienzo developed a fully online, fully automated four-hour and eight-hour anger management course. This course is chalked full of exercises and educational material to help you identify and manage your anger. Purchase 4 hour Level 1 Anger Management Course for $29.99 or our 8 hour Level 2 Anger Management Course for $49.99.Learn More
Dr. D’Arienzo is a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist and Divorce Expert. Dr. D’Arienzo developed a fully online Parent and Family Stabilization Course. Dr. D’Arienzo discusses section four of his course: how to communicate with your children about divorce. Purchase our course to ensure that your children survive and thrive during your divorce.Learn More
Divorce is a loss for the parents and children that are involved. In this article we will discuss the stages of grief and loss as it pertains to divorce. We go over the stages of loss, the changes that come with divorce, and how you can get through divorce. Take our DCF Approved Parent Stabilization Course for only $19.95 today.Learn More