Avoid the three day wait requirement and save $32.50 on your marriage license in Escambia County. We do provide the approved premarital course in an online format so you can save money on your marriage license and avoid waiting three days to have your marriage license issued to you. Contact our office today to get started.
Here’s how it works:
The Escambia County Clerk of Court will discount your marriage license application fee $32.50 upon completing our online premarital preparation course. The fee is $93.50 if you do not take the premarital preparation course and you will have a three day waiting period before you can pick up your license. If you do take the premarital preparation course, the fee $61.00 and the three day waiting period is waived.
The cost of our the course is $19.99, so you will actually SAVE $12.51 on your marriage license and there will be no out of pocket cost.
Our Online Premarital Preparation Course for Escambia County Covers the Following Florida Cities and More:
We have listed our favorite places to get married in Escambia County, FL:
1. Live Oak Plantation – Pensacola, FL.
2. Palafox Wharf Waterfront Reception Venue – Pensacola, FL.
3. Paul’s on the Bay – Pensacola, FL.
4. Scenic Hills Country Club – Pensacola, FL.
5. Barkley House – Pensacola, FL.
For your convenience, D’Arienzo Psychological Group has supplied information here from the Escambia County Marriage License website. Please refer to the Escambia County Clerk of Court website for additional information. http://www.escambiaclerk.com/clerk/coc_marriage.aspx
Frequently Asked Questions
Where are you located? Marriage Licenses may be obtained at the following locations:
What are your hours? Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
Who can perform marriage ceremonies? Ordained ministers or elders in communion with some church, all judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of the State of Florida.
Can we be married there at the Clerk’s office? Yes. We perform ceremonies at the Clerk’s office for small parties. There is a charge of $30.00 for us to perform the ceremony. We ask that you be at the office no later than 4:00 P.M. for your license to be issued and the ceremony to be performed no later than 4:30 P.M.
If I get a marriage license in the State of Florida, can I take it to another state to be married? No. The license is only good in the State in Florida and you must be married in the State of Florida.
How long is a marriage license good for? A Marriage License must be used within 60 days from the effective date. The effective date is located on your marriage license document.
How much does a Marriage License cost? The current fee for a Marriage License is $93.50, payable by cash, Mastercard, Visa, check, or money order payable to the Clerk of the Circuit Court.
How much does it cost for a certified copy of my marriage license? Each certified copy of a marriage license cost $3.00.
Will we have to read any material prior to our marriage license being issued? Yes. Both the bride and the groom must read and make a sworn affidavit that they have read the Family Law Handbook created by the Family Law Section of the Florida Bar.
Is a waiting period required? If both the bride and the groom are not a resident of the State of Florida, then no waiting period is required and the fee for the marriage license is $93.50. If either the bride or the groom are a resident of the State of Florida, then Florida requires a three day waiting period from the date you apply for you license before you can be married and the fee is $93.50. If both the bride and the groom have taken a premarital preparation course within one year prior to applying for their marriage license, from a course provider registered with the Clerk of Courts, you will qualify for a reduction in the fee of $32.50, which will make the fee $61.00. The waiting period will then be waived.
How is the waiting period counted? The date the license is issued does count as the first day. You will need to wait two additional full days. You may then be married on the following day. For example, assuming you are eligible for the three day waiting period: If you obtain your marriage license on Monday, then you can get married on Thursday. If you obtain your marriage license on Tuesday, then you can get married on Friday. If you obtain your marriage license on Wednesday, then you can get married on Saturday. If you obtain your marriage license on Thursday, then you can get married on Sunday. If you obtain your marriage license on Friday, then you can get married on Monday.
How can we avoid this three day waiting period? To avoid this three-day waiting period requirement, couples who are both Florida residents must complete a pre-marital preparation course given by a registered course provider. By completing both the pre-marital preparation course and the Family Law Handbook, Florida residents will have their marriage license fee reduced from $93.50 to $61.00. The pre-marital preparation course may be taken prior to applying for a marriage license.
Is a blood test required? The State of Florida does not require a blood test.
Must I be a Florida resident or a U.S. Citizen to apply for a marriage license? No. Non-Florida residents and individuals who are not citizens of the United States of America may apply for a marriage license F.S. 741.04
What kind of identification do I need? Any legal document with your photo and date of birth on it: i.e. valid drivers license, military ID, alien registration card, or passport.
Will I need my social security number to apply for a marriage license? Yes. Any person who has been issued a social security number shall provide that number when applying for a marriage license.
If I am not a U.S. Citizen, will I need my alien registration number issued by the United States Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services (USBCIS)? Any person who is not a citizen of the United States may provide either a social security number or an alien registration number if one has been issued by the United States Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services. Any person who is not a citizen of the United States and who has not been issued a social security number or an alien registration number is encouraged to provide another form of identification.
What is the age limit a person can get a marriage license without parental consent? The individual must be at least 18 years of age.
If I am under the age of 18, can I still get a marriage license? Per F.S. 741.0405, the clerk may issue a marriage license to an applicant if they are under the age of 18 but at least 16 year of age if one of the conditions listed below is met:
The county court judge, in his/her discretion, may issue a marriage license to an applicant if they are under 18 years of age if one of the conditions listed below is met:
Do I need to bring my divorce papers or spouse’s death certificate with me to get my marriage license? No. However, you must give us the complete and exact date of the divorce or date of death verbally. If you do not know the exact dates, then copies of Florida marriage certificates, divorce decrees, and death certificates may be obtained by contacting the Florida Department of Health Office of Vital Statistics. If the marriage, divorce, or death of your former spouse occurred outside the State of Florida, then copies of the marriage certificate, divorce decree, or death certificate may be obtained from the appropriate department in that state.
Do I need to bring witnesses? Witnesses are not required in the State of Florida.
Can I marry my relative? Per F.S. 741.21, A man may not marry any woman to whom he is related by lineal consanguinity, nor his sister, nor his aunt, nor his niece. A woman may not marry any man to whom she is related by lineal consanguinity, nor her brother, nor her uncle, nor her nephew.
Can I marry a person of the same sex as I am? Per F.S. 741.212, For purposes of interpreting any state statute or rule, the term “marriage” means only a legal union between one man and one woman as husband and wife, and the term “spouse” applies only to a member of such a union.
Dr. D’Arienzo is a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist and Anger Management Expert. Dr. D’Arienzo developed a fully online, fully automated four-hour and eight-hour anger management course. This course is chalked full of exercises and educational material to help you identify and manage your anger. Purchase 4 hour Level 1 Anger Management Course for $29.99 or our 8 hour Level 2 Anger Management Course for $49.99.Learn More
Dr. D’Arienzo is a Board Certified Clinical Psychologist and Divorce Expert. Dr. D’Arienzo developed a fully online Parent and Family Stabilization Course. Dr. D’Arienzo discusses section four of his course: how to communicate with your children about divorce. Purchase our course to ensure that your children survive and thrive during your divorce.Learn More
Divorce is a loss for the parents and children that are involved. In this article we will discuss the stages of grief and loss as it pertains to divorce. We go over the stages of loss, the changes that come with divorce, and how you can get through divorce. Take our DCF Approved Parent Stabilization Course for only $19.95 today.Learn More